• Email:  info@march8th.ng

Health Reward Grant (N1,000,000) - 2021

Health Reward Grant - N1,000,000

This year, the March 8th Initiative expanded in terms of reach and scope. The March 8th Initiative recognises health workers nationwide who, in an extremely difficult time, continue to exhibit compassion, diligence, hard work and professionalism in carrying out their duties. Individuals were requested to nominate any health worker who has shown these qualities during the past year under a Health Grant Reward Category that acknowledges their invaluable service to our communities.

The nominations were to be filled out on the march8th.ng portal providing information about their nominee and the reason(s) for the nomination.

Entries opened at 12.00 am on Monday, the 8th of March, 2021 and closed at 11:59pm on Sunday, the 14th of March, 2021. A total of 1,520 nominations were received.


The nominations were evaluated for clarity and contribution of the nominee to the development of the health sector in the past year. The impact of the nominee on the society was also evaluated.


The applicants who qualified for the Final Screening were contacted to submit academic credentials, professional licences and other supporting documents. They also provided details of their work supervisors for verification.

At the end of the verification process, thirty-four Applicants from across Nigeria were shortlisted as winners of the 2021 Health Reward Grant.

S/N Name of Health Worker Place of Work
1 Henry Owuna Mainland Hospital, Yaba, Lagos State
2 Suleiman Ibrahim Abubakar General Hospital Potiskum, Yobe State
3 Ajayi Abiodun Moses Miracle Hospital, Akure, Ondo State
4 Abdullahi Marafa General Hospital Maru, Zamfara State
5 Adeleke Lukman Idera-Lifeline Medical Centre, Ede, Osun State
6 Ayodele Ajayi Israel WHO National Polio Laboratory, University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital, Borno State
7 Ayotunde Omotoso University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Kwara State
8 Adamu Abdullahi Ogiri Federal Medical Center, Keffi, Nasarawa State
9 Baoku Olusola Federal Medical Centre Lokoja, Kogi State
10 Abdulwahab Kabir Sulaiman Kwanar Dawaki Isolation Center, Kano, Kano State
11 Ndak Zuhumnan Andarawusa Comprehensive Health Center Dadin Kowa, Jos South, Plateau State
12 Oduwole Olunike 12 Field Engineers Regiment Medical Reception Station, Ilese Barracks, Ogun State
13 Ezinne Irene Emerenini Michael Okpara University Hospital, Abia State
14 Olusola Osindero Triverge Healthcare, Lagos State
15 Rukkaya Kabir Galadanchi Rimi Primary Healthcare Centre, Katsina State
16 Madaki Sheyin David General Government Hospital, Zango Kataf, Kaduna State
17 Stella Okey-Orji Model Health Centre, Egwi, Rivers State
18 Tijani Salami University Health Centre, Federal University of Technology Minna, Niger State
19 Umar Zulkiflu Usman Danfodiyo University Teaching Hospital, Sokoto State
20 Abdulazeez Awwal Dr Hassan’s Hospital, Maitama, Federal Capital Territory.
21 Adebare Rasidat Wali Adeoyo Maternity Teaching Hospital, Ibadan, Oyo State
22 Albert Udoh Immanuel Infirmary, Cross River State
23 Ebong Ebong General Hospital, Uruk Ata Ikot Ekpor, Akwa Ibom State
24 Efughi Uchechukwu Chimaobi Uwani General Hospital, Enugu State
25 Emmanuel Oduware University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Benin City, Edo State
26 Adim Chijioke Ejike Federal Medical Center, Asaba, Delta State
27 Eugene Patrick Enweliku Federal Medical Centre Birnin Kudu, Jigawa State
28 Mfena Wase Foundation Memorial Hospital, Makurdi, Benue State
29 Mohammed Usman Mahmud Cottage Hospital Biri, Nafada LGA, Gombe State
30 Kabir Adekunle Durowade Federal Teaching Hospital, Ido-Ekiti, Ekiti State
31 Olisah Lauretta Ezi Health Centre Umumbo, Ayamelum LGA, Anambra State
32 Sadiq Iya Digil Federal Medical Center Yola, Adamawa State
33 Zainab I. Sambo Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano, Kano State
34 Madu Johnbosco Izuchukwu Imo State Specialist Hospital, Owerri, Imo State